Vendors and publishers of books on architecture and design.
Cart 0
Paperback Pioneers: Sun Books (1965-81)

Paperback Pioneers: Sun Books (1965-81)


Publisher: Re:collection Author: GDominic Hofstede and Warren Taylor ISBN: 9780646969053 Format: Paperback, 112pp, 270x195mm

Sun Books was an Australian paperback publisher formed in 1965 by Geoffrey Dutton, Brian Stonier and Max Harris. Brian Sadgrove, who would become a leading figure in Australian graphic design, was commissioned to create Sun Books’ distinctive identity and many of the publisher's covers during the 1960s and 1970s. This book includes an introduction by Warren Taylor and essay by Dominic Hofstede, detailing the imprint’s colourful history. Also featured are more than 80 covers designed by Sadgrove and other significant practitioners including Ken Cato, Robert Rosetzky and Guy Mirabella. 

Share this Product

More from this collection